Delays a plenty …

We’re still waiting to hear back from the architect with his brief and schedule of fees, but now that isn’t the only thing holding us up on our plans.

With Ingrid being made redundant on Friday, all financial plans are on hold as we go into penny pinching mode until she finds a new job. Considering it’s coming into the christmas shutdown period, chances are we are not looking to see any real results there till the new year. I know she will get a job again, but until she does, I can’t afford to get the Utility Truck, let alone the remaining supplies to finish off the fence we started last month.

So, in the meantime I have started calculating and planning further … I mean, that’s all I can do, right?

So, using the same amount of electricity that I have used over the last three years in my current house, I have calculated that I use a maximum of 21kWh per day, or 87.5Ah (you can calculate this by converting 1000*kWh/volts — so in my  case 1000*21kWh/240v=87.5Ah). This allows me to start sizing up the electrical system for the new place.

At 87.5Ah, assuming a maximum of a 50% daily battery discharge and a 5 day reserve, this means I will need to ensure I have 875Ah of batteries under my power collectors. This is calculated with the formula of DailyUsage*DaysReserve/MaxDailyDischarge.

So, from here I can start building up a system, solar, wind and microhydro are all options available to me, but now I need to start researching what each requires, how much each can produce and the best mix for the site.

It feels all very academic right now … but, maybe I can use this time to write to key figures in Agricultural practices across the state and see if I can’t persuade them to allow me a field trip and their to pick their brains.

C’est la vie, no?

Leave a Reply

