Jan 2011, a summary.

I think that it is fair to say that January has not received the message that we flipped into a new year and thus has remained acting like it’s 2010 still. Floods have ripped through the country, and while Goodrock Park is on high ground at 200 above sea level, the dumping of rain brought by Lá Niña has kept the ground too moist to work.

The positive side of this, of course, is that the dams are full, the creek is flowing like a river and the water tables have all been regenerated. The negative side is that without a good crop of red gums planted at the recharge zone, I’m going to have to keep a very close eye on whether the salinity will leach out there and cause me any issues. 

Meanwhile, I have applied and received entry into the Diploma of Agriculture. I had to wrangle a few things around to ensure I could fit it in with my work commitments, but the teachers have all offered to assist me to complete the course as a “correspondant student” although I am enrolled as a “full time” student. If I can keep up the focus, I should be able to fast track my way through the course and complete it all this year. 

Next steps include

  • Locking down a formal agistment contract
  • Finalise meetings with the three architecture firms and deliver our design brief to them to ascertain the right ones for us.
  • Contacting landcare to request assistance for seeking grants for the wildlife corridor and recharge zone plantings.
  • Prepare to pack up our current house and finalise the work needed to prepare it for sale in the next few months
  • Secure a cheap rental to live in while we push money into the building programme.

It’s going to be a tough year … but an exciting one!

Leave a Reply

