Met with people, test drove 4×4 and presented … all in a days work …

So, today I met with a few people about some potential opportunities in the near and distant future. We spoke about the possibility of extending some programmes currently in play and the creation of some other programmes specifically aimed at those entering agriculture. Hopefully I’ll have more to say about that soon, but I am painfully aware that those wheels do tend to spin ever so slowly, so it may take a while …

Speaking of wheels, I also had the opportunity to test drive the Toyota Hilux 4×4 today.

It’s not as powerful as the Defender nor the Landcruiser, but it does offer a decent set of capabilities and creature comforts. The truth of the matter is that it will be over three years from now before I’d truly utilise the power or capabilities of the LC70 — so, I may as well buy something that is cheaper, I can truly utilise in the meantime, and trade up if and when the time comes for us to require the extra workhorse power.

Finally, I dropped into the NMIT Yan Yean Farm (“the lodge”) and presented my assignment on the ISO 14001 EMS as a tool for Agricultural businesses and as a tool to not only manage and monitor the impact of the enterprise on the environment, but could also be utilised to monitor environmental impacts on the enterprise. It’s a fairly dry and uninspiring topic at the best of times, but I thinkI managed to keep it short enough to keep any snores from being heard, so I’m calling it a success 🙂

If you’re sadomasochistic, I have attached the presentation below.

All in all, a good productive day.

Leave a Reply

