From adversity comes opportunities

I haven’t been blogging as much lately. In fact, I haven’t done much of anything online lately. No twitter, no news collation, no personal blogs … worse than that, I haven’t done much of anything other than work. 

If you’ve known me for a long time then you know I am a long term sufferer of depression. It’s not something that (unsurprisingly) I tend to like to advertise. I take my meds and for the most part it’s under control. However, sometimes, it surges forward and takes over for a while. During this period, that has happened again. Stress, illness and lack of sleep are the primary culprits for the resurgence. I’m sure I will get it under control again … 

So there’s a whole bunch of activities that are now waylaid because of this. 

Which has lead me to think that I may want to rethink certain aspects of the property.

This farm project has always been focussed on one end task: to become a teaching farm. To provide case studies. To be a working farm that can be used to bridge the gap between farmers and townies. To highlight different methods of farming and to further those lessons.

So … I’m thinking that I may open the farm up to share farming. 

There is a farm plan in place that incorporates splitting the land up into one to two Hectare lots that are based on keyline features. So, the option of taking on a small area to experiment and/or demonstrate a technique is viable. 

I think it may be an option that allows the land to begin being used for the purpose I had in mind without my illness interfering.

One thought on “From adversity comes opportunities

  1. Sorry to hear of the Black Dog’s bite, Taiss. You are right though – it will pass, just like spring follows winter.The sharefarming idea sounds interesting. Are you planning to let the townies be the sharefarmers under your guidance? What do you think will motivate them?

Leave a Reply

